Fun links, methinks

Ricotta Park is stealing my gig. Fair enough, considering my gig is stealing. RP does a few mini book reviews today, including a review of The Psychic Soviet by ex-Nation of Uylsses frontman Ian Svenonious. Some consider Ulysses by James Joyce to be the best book ever written in English. Not me though! (It’s Moby Dick, hands down).

Go hit up Troglogyte Mignon to see some art (you need it kid!) Her watercolors are humorous and often affecting. A sample below (reproduced with permission of the artist).

smitten-b.jpg smitten panty lovers unite troglodyte mignon art

 

I found BibliOdyssey when looking for other “biblio” blogs. I was crushed, green to the gills with envy. This blog is fantastic! Go get some knowledge.

Shelfari is MySpace for book nerds. Go set up a shelf and meet some people. Argue about books. Posit Hemmingway as way overrated, or find that certain somebody who also trucked their way through Celine’s Journey to the End of the Night.

If you live in Jacksonville, no doubt you already travel daily to The Urban Core and Urban Jacksonville. What’s that you say? You haven’t visited yet? Go get some awareness (local, son!) Urban Jax has a great post today on artist Dan May. Urban Core was kind enough to include this blog in his write-up of Top 10 Jacksonville Blogs (the ‘klept came in lucky number 7! woo!) Urban Core was voted the best blog in Jacksonville by local indie paper Folio Weekly.

More fun links and hi-jinks next week.

Abominable Fallout by Dan May. Copyright Dan May, 2006.

4 thoughts on “Fun links, methinks”

  1. Thank you biblioklept. This is treasure. I did in fact truck my way through “Journey to the End of the Night.” And, yes, I do need art. So thank you. I hope you haven’t promised too much.

    Like

  2. I will publicly admit that I didn’t finish Journey to the End of the Night or Ulysses, even though I posted about them. I have attempted both more than once, including a somewhat-serious shot at Ulysses. I’m pretty confident I could read them now. Journey to the End of the Night, I mean, I think I get the picture. Read any paragraph, your bound to get words like: coffin, hemorroids, abortion, nothing, no, none, death, bullets, phrases like: “in short, she’s a snake” and “Crab lice were clinging to their pubic hair and eczema to the skin of their bellies” and the classic “…”
    I found parts funny, but is there a grand sweeping statement to the novel? Or is life just bad?

    Like

  3. I don’t remember anything like a grand statement, but I can’t say I was looking for one, either. I devoured the book in a day or two and did little else until I finished it. I was twenty-two and attending university writing seminars. The writing itself and the audacity of the individual sentences were more than enough for me. I hadn’t yet, and have seldom since, read anything that took bigger chances paragraph to paragraph or tried to tackle bigger issues with bigger language page to page. At least that’s how I remember it. Grim, though, you’re right about that. And funny.

    Like

Your thoughts?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.